Designers of the week: Monique L’huillier and Reem Acra – Spring 2013 bridal collections

Last week I was inundated with pictures from my twitter followers of wedding dresses from the bridal market in New York. As you may know by now, one of the most talked about spring 2013 collections was that from Vera Wang.

However, two collections really captured my attention and these were from the designers by the names of Monique L’huillier and Reem Acra. I was going to select just one of the spring 2013 collections to feature on today’s post, however I just couldn’t do it.

Monique L’huillier’s use of lace, bows and sequins created a real fantasy theme. Her collection of wedding dresses I believe has something for every bride….short hemmed, mermaid, ballgown and strapless. I love her combination of lace and tulle on the dresses, which are great for brides that like the combination of both. Every time I see this collection I fall in love with a different piece. Below are some of my favourite pieces.

MONIQUE LHUILLIER 2013 bridal collection

MONIQUE LHUILLIER Spring 2013 bridal collection

MONIQUE LHUILLIER Spring 2013 bridal collection

Reem Acra apparently looked to the garden for inspiration. Her collection comprises of dresses that can be converted into beautiful eveningwear for the bride e.g., detachable skirts. Again  i’ve posted a few images of the dresses that I adore.

reem-acra-spring 2013

reem-acra-spring 2013

reem-acra-spring 2013

Let me know what you think about the collections? I’d love to hear if you have a personal favourite from the dresses that debuted on the New York runway last week.

Leave a Reply

